Author Archives: Dr Fiene

About Dr Fiene

Dr. Rick Fiene has spent his professional career in improving the quality of child care in various states, nationally, and internationally. He has done extensive research and publishing on the key components in improving child care quality through an early childhood program quality indicator model of training, technical assistance, quality rating & improvement systems, professional development, mentoring, licensing, risk assessment, differential program monitoring, and accreditation. Dr. Fiene is a retired professor of human development & psychology (Penn State University) where he was department head and director of the Capital Area Early Childhood Research and Training Institute.

Two Newspaper Articles on Unlicensed Child Care and Home Based Child Care

The following two links provide interesting newspaper articles for parents and policy makers that fit nicely with my two previous blog posts on Caring for Our Children Basics and the Parent’s Guide to Choosing Safe and Healthy Child Care. Unlicensed … Continue reading

Posted in RIKI.Institute@gmail.com | Leave a comment

A Parent’s Guide to Choosing Safe and Healthy Child Care

For those who follow my RIKI Website and Blog, I have in two previous RIKI Blogs posted Generic Key Indicators for Early Care and Education and Caring for Our Children Basics for state administrators.  In this blog, I want to … Continue reading

Posted in RIKI.Institute@gmail.com | Leave a comment

Generic Key Indicators from Regulatory Compliance, Professional Development and Quality Rating Improvement Systems

I get asked all the time what are the most salient generic key indicators from all the various sectors of the early care and education system, such as regulatory compliance/licensing, professional development and quality rating improvement systems (QRIS).  I have … Continue reading

Posted in RIKI.Institute@gmail.com | Leave a comment

Caring for Our Children Basics

Caring for Our Children Basics has fallen off the radar screen when it comes to monitoring, regulatory compliance and standards development in early care and education (ECE).   This is a very important set of standards that has distilled the most … Continue reading

Posted in RIKI.Institute@gmail.com | Leave a comment

NARA’s Key Indicator Facilitated Dialogues to Continue at their Licensing Seminar in Williamsburg, Virginia, September 24-26.

The second NARA Key Indicator Facilitated Dialogues session was held yesterday (June 15, 2018) in which Dr Fiene discussed the evolution of the Early Childhood Program Quality Improvement and Indicator Model, the Differential Monitoring Logic Model and Algorithm, and his … Continue reading

Posted in RIKI.Institute@gmail.com | Leave a comment

NARA’s Key Indicator System: Facilitated Dialogues this Friday, June 15th

Key Indicator System: Facilitated Dialogues this Friday, June 15th Join Dr. Fiene and NARA at  3-4pm AT |2-3pm ET |1-2pm CT |12-1pm MT | 11-12pm PT | 10-11am AKT Child Care | Adult Care | Child Welfare   NARA is excited to present facilitated dialogues on Key Indicators with Dr. Rick … Continue reading

Posted in RIKI.Institute@gmail.com | Leave a comment

Regulatory Compliance Skewness and Scaling for Decision Making

Here are two technical research notes/short papers on regulatory compliance skewness and scaling for decision making.  The first note deals with the issues associated with the terrible skewness found in regulatory compliance data while the second research note proposes a … Continue reading

Posted in RIKI.Institute@gmail.com | Leave a comment

Fiene Algorithm for Generating Regulatory Compliance Key Indicators (RCKI)

Here is the most recent simplified version of the Fiene Algorithm for Generating Regulatory Compliance Key Indicators (RCKI) Add up regulatory non-compliances for all programs, agencies, jurisdictions, etc… Review Regulatory Compliance history sorted from high to low Nominal (Compliance(1)/Non-Compliance(0)) or … Continue reading

Posted in RIKI.Institute@gmail.com | Leave a comment

Pubs, Docs, Pres for State Licensing Administrators

Here are a series of publications, documents, technical notes, and slides for licensing administrators related to licensing measurement & systems, and regulatory compliance to keep in mind as they design and implement their monitoring systems: LICENSING MEASUREMENT CHAPTER2 Instrument-Based Program … Continue reading

Posted in RIKI.Institute@gmail.com | Leave a comment

Ordinal Scaling in Licensing Measurement

I have attached a short technical paper (TRC Ordinal Scale Licensing Measurement ) on moving from the predominant licensing measurement paradigm which measures rules and standards at a nominal scale level to an ordinal scale level.  By introducing this alternate … Continue reading

Posted in RIKI.Institute@gmail.com | Leave a comment